Why Not

A lot of things in my life have gone the way of “Well, why not?”.

 

When I tried Standup comedy.

When I moved to Denver.

When I left my job to pursue music.

 

‘Why not’ can take you a lot of places in life. Up, down, sideways- it’s my opinion though, that using “Why not” when making a big decision, and picking an option that you know is the tougher one for you, can lead to a lot of big things.

//

If I’m being honest with you at this moment, I’m not sitting at the top of my game right now (in my opinion at least…. which is going to keep me there isn’t it? 😉

No, I’m not at the top of my game. I’m sitting here working a job in the cannabis industry that isn’t utilizing me to my fullest, with few friends to my name in my local state, hell the world, and not every day is easy for me. But you know what? Right now, I’m happy.

I’m happy that I spent the day hanging out in my bed and taking things slow. I’m happy that I’ve pushed myself like I have to reach this niche in my life that I’m in. Because through following my truth, and telling myself ‘Why Not’, I’ve realized a lot of things and I think they’re things worth sharing.

//

When I left my job at City Year helping out with 9th Grade, I wasn’t sure about the decision. The facts were that I liked the job quite a bit, but as it is with everything, I wasn’t fully happy. I let that become my focus, and after pursuing music for the preceding year, I decided that music was where I could make the greatest impact with my life. So I said to myself, what’s stopping me, why not chase music? And I took the plunge.

I’m a spiritual guy, and I believe strongly in the meditative power of dance, dance music, and the power of music to heal and bring people together. I still stand by this decision to have left, even though I miss City Year and the kids, and that old way of life. But as I sit here in my apartment typing, I feel content (for today at least) as I’ve realized that there is always a way to happiness if you are ready to accept where you are in your life fully.

Me saying ‘Why Not’ and leaving my job caused me quite a lot of struggle, but at the end of the day I can sit here and rest content that I did not leave my cards on the table. That decision to jump or not, is one that people are faced with all the time, and can grow from.

//

Even though today, I don’t feel I’m fully aligned with my “Why Not” lifestyle, and I’ll explain why, for the past year I have let that guide my decisions and even though it hasn’t been the easy path, it has put me in a position where I feel happy with myself. I’m less afraid to be myself and take bold moves. To me that’s a very important thing, because we only get one life and there’s no sense in waiting for things to happen.

//

I was going to get a tattoo Thursday. A Hamsa hand, like the one pictured below. Where was I going to get it? Right in the middle of my chest. Symbolizing my spiritual quest and a “stay woke” of sorts

Image result for palm frond hamsa hand

I was nervous as hell leading up to Thursday. As I was texting with the artist Thursday morning, he gracefully gave me an out, and amid the snow situation and covid, I took the chance and postponed the appointment.

I can hear you, “Why Trevor! Isn’t that disobeying your treasured advice! Why Not??!!”

I made this choice because my Why Not quest has lead me onto a path which tests me every single day. As someone who sees himself on a spiritual quest to help people realize that we are just temporary beings in a world that is fully what we make of it, and that anything is possible, I wasn’t ready to take this step with the tattoo. So I balked. And balking after so many pushes forward, has given me a little relief from this intense quest I have put myself on. Hence why I’m happy for now.

I know this is still shooting my own advice in the foot, but Why Not isn’t a constant rule. There is a place for giving yourself the time and space you need, you need to be aware it is a choice.. Because as far as I’ve pushed myself on this spiritual quest path, leaving my job for music, working in cannabis, at the end of the day if I can’t feel happy then pushing forward isn’t worth it. And that’s where I find myself now.

//

Why Not can put you ahead in life. There’s no doubt about it. Growth happens outside the comfort zone, and it happens when you want it to the least. But at the same time, be wary of your energy level and what the point of it all is anyway. Because pushing and pushing and pushing is no good if you can’t find the time to lay back and smile

Published by Trevor Kononenko

Believer in Spirituality and self growth

Leave a comment